L in LaLa Land

October 17, 2011

Toddler Bootcamp

Since these last few weeks of clinical training for school, I haven’t been able to spend time with Alex like I want to. We have been potty training and working on vocabulary as I got him ready for school in the morning and ready for bed in the evening. But these past six weeks while I was training, Daddy took him to school in the morning and I was just to exhausted in the evening.  Potty training took more than a backseat since the daycare wasn’t enforcing it like I thought. Alex started acting out and screaming for things since I wasn’t there as much as I used to be (and yes, this broke my heart entirely). So, I decided that during my two week break from clinicals, Alex was gonna go through “Toddler Bootcamp”.

But why mommy? You know I love you right?!?

For me, Toddler Bootcamp was heavy (well heavier, since I’m not TRYING to stress it too much) potty training, introducing new words and making sure he used his words when asking for things. So far, today Monday is day 3.  I am proud to say that Alex has been asking for the potty consistently and we are back up to approximately 50%. Also, there have been less meltdowns but he’s been slightly under the weather so that calls for more cuddling rather than falling out in front of the fridge because I can’t tell whether he wants yogurt, milk, pediasure, or water.

So, what am I doing different? Pottying: asking more often, paying more attention to cues, and for about 2-3hrs a day he is diaper-free. Vocabulary/Manners: introduce new words as often as possible, reinforce manners where important like the dinner table, make sure that both Daddy and I use manners. Other things: discipline with this little one has been HARD. We have a timeout chair which he does sometimes but in true mischievous little boy fashion, he loves to disobey.  So for now, taking the Nanny Jo approach with timeout, explain afterwards what was wrong, child apologize, hug and keep it moving. Let’s hope all this stuff works!

What is new with your little ones? Am I crazy for putting little man through “toddler bootcamp”?

2 Comments »

  1. It’s too bad that the daycare wasn’t doing due dilligence with helping your son with his pottying needs.

    I’m not sold on the time out. Time means nothing to them. I also don’t think it demonstrates or teaches anything especially to the little ones. It’s hard being that small. You want to do things on your own but can’t. Big people constantly interrupt you. No one seems to understand your language. And you feel everything with your whole body and can’t express it with words as well as you can physically.

    Showing them things you want them to do (like your modeling of manners), I think is more effective than focusing on the “don’t do” with a time out. KWIM? It puts the attention on the behaviors you want not on the the behaviors you don’t. My DD has some doozy tantrums at times when she’s feeling exceptionally upset…she knows no other way to express those intense feelings (she’s 2) yet and doesn’t have the impulse control yet either. We just tell her we know that she wants to do/get A, and that it is okay to be upset/angry/sad/irritated/dissapointed. After acknowledging those feelgins, we give it no more attention than that. It runs it course and is typically short lived especially when I walk away to go about my business :).

    Comment by eliminationcommunication — October 17, 2011 @ 10:17 pm | Reply

    • Thanks for your comment! Yes, I think with the continuity of care by the daycare, the teachers still think of them as infants. His “time outs” are barely anything, it’s more so to calm him down (he gets frustrated/angry easily…mainly b/c he’s 18mths and also b/c I’m the same way LOL). It’s easier to talk to him when he has calmed his emotions and tries to explain them to me. He has both vocab and sign language which helps. However, we are getting into the hitting phase so we’ll see how this goes.

      Comment by L — October 17, 2011 @ 11:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

